binghamcup2014 web

Voting now open for 2014 GLORIAs

Voting now open for 2014 GLORIAs

LAST UPDATED // Monday, 28 April 2014 15:51 Written by // Ron Hughes

New South Wales MP Penny Sharpe today announced that voting has opened online for the worst anti-LGBTI comments of the year in the 2014 GLORIAs.

Organised by Sharpe and hosted by David Marr, the GLORIAs are an annual tongue in cheek “awards night” held at the NSW Parliament to shine a light on public homophobia and transphobia by highlighting the most outrageous, ridiculous and uninformed comments about LGBTI people both nationally and internationally.

Awards are given in six categories: Media, Sport, Politics & Law, Religion, Silliest GLBTI & International.

Online voting decides the winners in each category, with the Golden Gloria decided by a "boo-off" among those attending on the night.

“This year we had over 50 nominations across the six categories," Sharpe said.

“In the Politics category, new NSW Premier Mike Baird just scraped in with a nomination for his views on ‘choosing to live a homosexual lifestyle’ and his refusal to answer questions about this statement at a press conference after he became Premier.

“Premier Baird is up against collection of offensive Federal Election campaign materials, speeches from our Federal Parliamentarians on marriage equality, as well as three separate nominations for Fred Nile.”

By far the greatest number of nominations this year fall into the “International” category and include Guido Barilla (of Barilla pasta fame); India’s Supreme Court; Ugandan Ethics & Integrity Minister Simon Lokodo for likening homosexuals to “beasts of the forest” (among other things); Brunei for adopting a new penal code that calls for death by stoning for consenting same-sex sexual activity; Russia’s Vladimir Putin;  Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan; US right-wing commentator Michelle Bachmann and several others.

“In the Media category, Andrew Bolt is back with two comments making the finals this year,” Sharpe said.

“Mr Bolt’s competition includes an Editorial in the Bairnsdale Advertiser titled ‘Trans-genderism is the enemy of healthy childhood development’ and a poster advertising the Brisbane Queer Film Festival featuring two men kissing that was deemed too explicit and banned by Brisbane City Council.”

The "Silliest LGBTI" category is where we take a swing at those of our own who have made ridiculous anti-gay comments. This year's nominees are gay federal Liberal candidate for Sydney Sean O'Connor, gay former Conservative London Assembly Member Brian Coleman and gay CNN host Don Lemon.

Unsurprisingly, the “Religion” category includes the Australian Christian Lobby and Ex-Anglican Archbishop Peter Jensen, but also contains such gems as Pastor Kevin Swanson of the Colorado based Reformation Church, who thinks that the Disney movie Frozen indoctrinates five-year-olds into lesbianism and bestiality.

VOTING is open now until 5pm on Wednesday May 14, the evening of the awards.

Go to for a full list of nominees and to vote for your “favourite” crank of the year. Tickets can also be purchased for the event online.

[Story image] Vladimir Putin conflates homosexuality and paedophilia by saying there’s no ban on homosexuality in Russia “but leave the children alone, please.”


Ron Hughes

Ron Hughes

Ron Hughes is the editor of SA's only LGBTI magazine, blaze.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.