binghamcup2014 web

Gay gaffe awards GLORIAs set for May

Gay gaffe awards GLORIAs set for May

LAST UPDATED // Friday, 14 March 2014 17:36

The date for this year's annual GLORIA Awards has been confirmed for Wednesday May 14.

The GLORIAs is a tongue in cheek "awards night" which pokes fun at the most, outrageous, ridiculous and uninformed comments about LGBTI people both nationally and internationally.

The GLORIAs are the brain-child of NSW upper house MP Penny Sharpe.

Awards are given in six categories: Media, Sport, Politics & Law, Religion, Silliest GLBTI & International.

Online voting decides the winners in each category, with the Golden Gloria decided by a "boo-off" among those attending on the night.

Last year, NSW Roads Minister Duncan Gay received the Golden GLORIA for tearing up the popular Rainbow Crossing at Taylor Square.

Other winners included Katter’s Australia Party Candidate Tess Corbett, commentator Andrew Bolt and out gay performer Anthony Callea.

Anyone can nominate an offensive comment at any time through the website with voting beginning in the weeks leading up to the event and closing on the afternoon of the event.

Bookings for the event will open soon.

5th Annual GLORIAs Awards Night, 6-8.30pm, Wednesday May 14 2014 at the Parliament of NSW. TheGLORIAs


Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.