Mardi Gras 2014 Award Winners announced

Mardi Gras 2014 Award Winners announced

LAST UPDATED // Tuesday, 25 March 2014 11:12 Written by // Cec Busby

Mardi Gras family, friends, supporters, board members and parade entrants gathered at the Beresford Hotel last night for the annual Mardi Gras Awards.

The awards celebrate the contribution of the community to the festival and parade, delivering awards across a range of Mardi Gras events from Fair Day to Parade as well as honouring community members.

The awards kicked off with thank you drinks for volunteers and the announcement of the workforce awards, including volunteer of the year, which went to Trudy Sumner. Other highlights included the inaugural Ron Austin Award for Most Fabulous Parade Entry, which went to the unforgettable Tina and her Turners. This award was named in honour of Ron’s role as one of the pioneers of Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras.

Perfomances by Jag-B featuring Gemma Wood and special guest Matt Mitcham added to the festivities which celebrate the 2014 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras in all its glory.

See the full list of winners below:

Award For Excellence In Innovation: Mardi Gras Party Creative Team
Award For Excellence In Service: Mitchell Price
Award For Excellence In Teamwork: Mardi Gras Medical Team
 I-Care Award: Gabby Canette
Award For Excellence In Leadership: Sam Hartland
Achievement Awards: John Kininjjew, Craig Maroun, Angela Sinnett, Ignatius Jones
Volunteer Of The Year: Trudy Sumner

Best Fair Day Commercial Stall: Digital Camera Warehouse
Best Fair Day Community Stall: Inspire Foundation
Best Fair Day Youth Stall: Wear It Purple
Fair Day Stall Of The Year: Muscle Meals Direct
Fundraising Person Of The Year: Blayke Fisher

Best Community Event: Make Play Workshops By Object Australian Design Centre
Best Visual Arts Event: Toy With Me By Richard Hedger
Best Performing Arts Event: A Boy And A Bean By Nick Atkins
Festival Event Of The Year: Day For Night By Performance Space
Best Window Display: Garb By Craig Craig

Best Parade Choreography: Dr Mark's Marching Academy
Best Parade Costume Design: Thai'd Together
Best Parade Float Design: Sea Of Love By Hot Kandi
Best Parade Individual Entrant: Exterminate Homophobia By Kathy Sant And Jenny Mann
Ron Austin Award For Fabulous Parade Entry: Tina And Her Turners

Steph Sands
Kevin 'Kabi' Rigby
Ron Muncaster
Jane Becker
Ignatius Jones
Liz Dods



Cec Busby

Cec Busby

Cec Busby is the news editor of SX and

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.