• Home
  • Features
  • 2015 GLOBE Community Awards: Full list of winners
2015 GLOBE Community Awards: Full list of winners

2015 GLOBE Community Awards: Full list of winners

CREATED ON // Saturday, 17 October 2015 Author // Reg Domingo

Eleven people and organisations from across Victoria and Australia were recognised for their service to Victoria’s GLBTI community at the 2015 GLOBE Community Awards.

Now in its second year, the awards recognises outstanding achievements within or contributions to Victoria’s GLBTI community.

The awards, organized and produced by the Gay and Lesbian Organisation of Business and Enterprise (GLOBE), was held at the Myer Mural Hall and attended by more than 300 guests.

“I’m just so proud to see such amazing work going on in our community,” said GLOBE President David Micallef. 

“I have once again been humbled by the time, effort and good will that others give to ensure our community remains healthy, safe and proud. 

“It just goes to show, we need to keep taking time to recognise these people and what they are doing to support the lives of GLBTI people in Victoria.

“I want to congratulate all the nominees, finalists and the winners. We’re immeasurably proud of all of you,” David said.


2015 GLOBE Community Awards: Full list of winners


Healthy Community Award


Awarded for work in improving the physical and/or mental health of the GLBTI community in Victoria.

Winner: Switchboard Victoria

Switchboard provides a free, anonymous and confidential telephone counselling, referral and information service to LGBTIQ Victorians.




Protecting Our Community Award – sponsored by Lander and Rogers


Awarded for work in keeping the GLBTI community safe and/or advancing the community’s human rights.

Winner: Kildonan Uniting Care – The Diversity Project

Kildonan Uniting Care’s Diversity Project works with the communities and services relevant to young people, to support the provision of respectful and safe environments to improve the health and wellbeing of same sex attracted, sex and/or gender-diverse (SSASGD) young people, aged 10-25 in the Greater Shepparton region.




Connecting Our Community – sponsored by RMIT


Awarded for work in engaging Victorians who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and intersex.

Winner: Joy 949

Joy 94.9 is an independent voice for the diverse lesbian and gay communities listened to by over 329,000 people, providing podcasts, blogs, online listening, music, talk, news & current affairs, arts & cultural programs.




ANZ Excellence in Business Award


Awarded for outstanding achievement in business.

Winner: SensWide Employment – WorkingOUT

WorkingOUT is a specialist employment service delivered by SensWide Employment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans*, intersex and queer identified people facing barriers to accessing employment.




Media Person of the Year


Awarded for exceptional work in media and broadcasting.

Winner: Rachel Cook

Rachel has worked tirelessly in media for the LGBTIQ community for the past 12 years. This last year in particular she has re-launched MCV with a special focus on Victoria. From community issues, health, arts, individual profiles, news, sports and in-depth features Rachel has given us a platform for all voices to be heard.




Artist of the Year – sponsored by The Cullen


Awarded for exceptional work in performing arts, visual arts, music or film.

Winner: Lisa Daniel

Lisa Daniel is the longest serving director of the Melbourne Queer Film Festival, finishing up her role in 2015 after 17 years as director. Her contribution to festival and to LGBTI film has seen MQFF become renowned on the international queer film scene and a much loved part of the Melbourne LGBTI calendar.




Sports Person of the Year – sponsored by Aesop


Awarded for outstanding achievement in any sport.

Winner: Jason Ball – Yarra Glen Football Club

Jason Ball is best known as the pioneering GLBTI advocate who became the first Australian Rules footballer at any level of the game to publicly come out as gay. He undertook his public coming out as a player for the Yarra Glen Football Club, his club and community’s support leading to the development of the annual Pride Cup.




Straight Ally of the Year – sponsored by IBM


Awarded to recognise a non-GLBTI individual for supporting the GLBTI community in Victoria.

Winner: Dr Edwina Wright

For over 30 years, Associate Professor, Dr Edwina Wright has been at the forefront of HIV medicine, and in 2015, she has been instrumental in research into pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) to prevent HIV transmission for individuals at risk.




Volunteer of the Year


Awarded for outstanding commitment through volunteer work in our community.

Winner: Greig Friday

Greig Friday started volunteering work with the Victorian AIDS Council in 2007 shortly after completing the Young & Gay workshop – eager to contribute back to the community that welcomed him. His passion to reduce stigma and discrimination led to him being a positive influence to other young gay men and a much loved part of the VAC team.

Greig and his mother, Carol Friday, sadly lost their lives in the Germanwings Flight 9525 tragedy in March 2015.




MCV People’s Choice Award


Nominated and voted for by the community this is the People’s Choice for recognition of excellence in the GLBTI community.

Winner: Dr Graham Willett

Dr Graham Willett is an unsung hero of the Melbourne and indeed broader Australian LGBT community. His 30 plus year involvement in the community has included as a community activist, a writer for LGBT press and of course as the long-term President of the Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives




GLOBE GLBTI Person of the Year


Awarded for outstanding and exceptional work in supporting Victoria’s gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and intersex community.

Winner: Sally Goldner

Sally Goldner has been actively involved in Melbourne’s queer community for seventeen years and has been a lead advocate in fighting for transgender rights. Sally’s work has helped highlight the needs of the community and the inequalities that are suffered by those that identify as transgender.




GALLERY: Check out photos from the 2015 GLOBE Community Awards. Photos by Deep Field Photography



View the full gallery here



Reg Domingo

Reg Domingo

Reg Domingo is the editor of SX.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.